International competition rewards outstanding brick architecture

For the eighth time now, the Wienerberger Brick Award in 2018 is honouring the most creative examples of modern and innovative brick architecture.

Ceramic products have to play an outstanding role in the submitted projects, from clay blocks through facing bricks and clay roofing tiles to pavers. Special attention is paid in the judging of the projects to the interplay of functionality, sustainability and energy efficiency.

The Brick Award is endowed with prize money of  7 000 euros for the grand prize winner (including category winner) and 5 000 euros for each of the remaining four category winners. The award comprises five categories:

  • Feeling at home
  • Living together
  • Working together
  • Sharing public spaces
  • Building outside the box

The fifth category is aimed at innovative concepts and ways of using brick, like, for example, the application of new construction technologies or the use of special, custom-made bricks and tiles.

Following expiry of the submission phase on 20 April 2017, an expert panel of architecture journalists and critics will narrow down the entries to 50 projects. An international jury of architects will then choose the five category winners and the winner of the grand prize. The ceremony for the presentation of the Brick Award will be held in Vienna in spring 2018. Coinciding with this, the accompanying Brick 18 book featuring all 50 nominated projects will be published.

Source Ziegelindustrie International

Aucun commentaire: